Building a Gravel Driveway

/ Building a Gravel Driveway #1  

dfeck

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B3200
We are planning on building a house that will require a 1000ft driveway. I would like to explore building the driveway myself. Could someone tell me some good sources that has information regarding driveway installation? My thought was to excavate down 8" and lay 4" of rip raft and 4" of 3/4" gravel. The lot is somewhat level and drains fair. I want the driveway to be bullet proof and solid. A local excavating company says they would charge ~$15000 for the driveway ($3000 per 200ft). I feel I can do this much cheaper. But I have NO experience building driveways.

/ Building a Gravel Driveway #2  
I'd say you're on the right track, depending on your subsoil.

For DIY your biggest expense will be the material hauling. What do you have for removal of the topsoil. That is a job well beyond a CUT unless you have scads of time available. Do you have a dozer or can you rent one?

/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ Building a Gravel Driveway #3  
I dont think you would benefit from grading down 8 inches. It will save you money not to grade and had the same idea to grade down on a 3/4 mile farm road then lay stone but it turned into a disaster on dead flat land in reguards to drainage. I would recommend the large stones of those found on a construction site. They will give you a rough ride at first however will smooth out and get pressed down over time. If you have seen how a construction site just lays the large stones for dump trucks and equipment trucks thats all i would do and keep it elevated above the rest of the land. Smaller 3/4" stone would help to smooth it out if layed on top.

/ Building a Gravel Driveway
Rob,