Buying land-some things to be aware of

/ Buying land-some things to be aware of #1  

btolle

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota B7510HSD
I had originally posted this to another forum at Help! I need legal advice re: easements but at the suggestion of stephan am posting it here so it is more easily accessible.
-----------------------------------------------------------

First, let me say that I am truly sorry to hear what has happened to mdbarb. It is a sad that our justice system let this happen. However, I am looking for the lessons in this travesty.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a lawyer. I am a licensed Texas Real Estate Salesperson and as such cannot and do not give legal advice. All information below is just my personal opinion. Consult with an attorney if in doubt about any real estate transaction.

1. Judges and juries do not rule on the law, they rule on emotions. I know that for a fact. I can't tell you how I know that a particular judge ruled on emotion instead of law, but believe me it is true.

2. People, including those who you thought were your friends, and lawyers, will lie on the witness stand. I have had that happen to me. I was stunned to see what goes on in a courtroom. I have no doubt that those folks told all sorts of tales about mdbarb that were pure fiction but there is no way you can prove any different. It comes down to who the jury likes and believes. In this case the jury may have felt that mdbarb was taking advantage of those "poor old folks". You cannot win against a sympathetic opponent.