5' box blade question

/ 5' box blade question #1  

slydog

Gold Member
Southaven, Ms now, Greers Ferry Ark later
Tractor
1955 Ford 640
5\' box blade question

Is $240.00 a decent price for a 5' box blade? I can get one from this Homier distributor show that is in town till tomorrow. Also, I can get a a 3 point 30" scoop for $130. Is that a useful thing to have? And lastly, for a 4' to 6' adjustable scraper blade for $119.00? I have a gravel road on my place to upkeep. Would that be a practical purchase?

They have a website here that shows their products and prices.

Homier

Ken

/ 5' box blade question #2  
Re: 5\' box blade question

I have no personal experience with or opinion of Homier, but that price is less than I paid for a well used but very substantial Gannon 4' box blade.

/ 5' box blade question #3  

My 6" box blade is a J-Bar and cost me $410.

/ 5' box blade question #4  

According to the Homier website the brand is Farm Pro and the box blade shipping weight is 491# Maybe someone here is familiar with the Farm Pro brand, I am not.

A 5' King Kutter box blade weighs 415# so it sounds like the Homier has at least as much metal in it as the King Kutter. However, all metal is not created equal and all welds are not equal. I would take a look at some other brands then look at the Homier stuff and take your best guess as to whether it is comparable or not.

The price is certainly right. I would expect to pay about $400-$450 for a decent standard duty box blade.

The scoop can be handy if you don't have a front end loader and need to move dirt from one place to the other and don't want to drag it there with the box blade.

Bill Tolle

/ 5' box blade question #5  

Almost everything at the Homier sales is made in China and many times the low prices reflects poor quality.