roof washers

/ roof washers #1  

ric

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota 245DT and 175F
Anybody have any experience with roofwashers? I'd like to add some to my downspouts to improve water collection. However, these things seem to live in the same category with dinosaurs, nobody seen one, but everybody seems to know what they look like. Any ideas for building one of these would appreciated. Thanks, ric

/ roof washers #2  
ric,

Another name for them are diverters, I believe. Here in my neck of the woods, people still have them to divert the first few minutes of a rainfall before letting the water into their cisterns. They are probably still available since a lot of people are still using cisterns and with the preservationists in restoring older homes.

Have you called any roofing or hardware stores in your area? Especially, those that carry brass, tin, or galvanized downspouts.

Hope this helps.

Terry

/ roof washers #3  
First and foremost, I am no expert on rainwashers; however, I have just installed eight of them on a rainwater collection system I am working on. There seem to be many different designs available in various web sites. I wound up combining elements from several. From the top down: I have a 4 inch Schedule 40 PVC DWV sanitary tee with a 1 7/8 inch piece of pipe cemented in the top (flush with the top of the sanitary tee). This fits very nicely over the downspout outlet in my gutter, which is 4 inch x 3/1/2 inch. Cemented in the bottom of the sanitary tee is a 4 inch piece of pipe. This is cemented into a 4 inch x 6 inch bushing. This bushing is cemented into a 6 inch coupling. The coupling is cemented into a 60 inch piece of 6 inch Schedule 40 PVC DWV pipe. On the bottom of the 6 inch pipe is a 6 inch female adapter; this puts internal threads on the bottom of the roof washer. I have a 6 inch plug screwed into the bottom of the roof washer and I tapped the middle of the plug and screwed in a 1/2 inch brass valve with a hose bib. Back to the top of the