Planting in Central Texas

/ Planting in Central Texas #1  

weldingisfun

Veteran Member
Tractor
Mahindra 4500 4WD w/FEL, and Scotts S2048 lawn tractor
I've been raising goats for the past 7 years. Now I want to plant some grass for them to browse. My initial thoughts are to plant Coastal Bermuda. That is the kind of hay I feed them in the winter to supplement their feed and they seem to like it.
I have about 5 acres spread over my 40 that I consider tillable. At least the topsoil is more that 1 inch deep.
Having never done this before, I am coming to the forum for advise.
You can see the implements I already own, should I add a tandem disk or a spring tooth cultivator?
Based upon your knowledge and experience am I wrong in both areas? If so, what do you recommend?

/ Planting in Central Texas #2  
I think most folks sprig coastal. There was a big discussion on this on Eddie's creating a lake post, cause he wanted to get grass going around his lake. Lot's of responses. Might jump over there and read that right quick.

/ Planting in Central Texas #3  
You can see the implements I already own

I answered this post on Countrybynet, but your implements are not listed over there as they are here.;)

/ Planting in Central Texas #4  
Coastal needs sprigged, which means a sprigger and sprigs to put in the ground. You can turn the soil, but you'll havta get someone to do the sprigging. Check w your county agent or feed store. You won't be doing it until may so you have time.

/ Planting in Central Texas
Thanks everyone.
It looks like the Coastal Bermuda is out.
KrumpsBrother, I'm checking into the Texas Sue Gammagrass. They are just 20 miles from me.
Bird, sorry about the CBN posting. I had forgotten that it has a very limited profileand thanks for your advice.

/ Planting in Central Texas #7  
weldingisfun said: