Pumping maple sap

/ Pumping maple sap #1  

lhfarm

Veteran Member
Tractor
NH TC40DA
I got the following message from a young friend. I have no experience with maple sap, so not really sure how to advise her. I'm hoping someone here might have a suggestion -

Hey Barry!
I have a farming/plumbing question for you. I am working with a couple out in Jackson County to make maple syrup this year. We set up a bunch of tubing to collect sap from about 100 trees into a big 325-gallon container at the bottom of the valley. We then hooked up our 3.5 HP pump with some 1"
tubing and tried to pump the sap up to the top of the hill where the boiler is. Alas, the pump wasn't strong enough to get it to the top of the hill.
We were about 15' (vertical) shy of the top.

None of the solutions we came up with seem great but here's what we're thinking.
1. get a bigger pump (maybe 5 HP)
2. try replacing some of the tubing with a smaller diamemter (3/4") to try and increase the pressure 3. pump in stages using a second pump

Steve has already spent a bunch of money on this project and is hesitant to spend any more so we're hoping to find the cheapest solution possible. Any ideas? Have a big pump sitting around you'd be willing to loan or rent out?

thanks
Maggie

/ Pumping maple sap #2  
Around here the sugar shacks are built low in the valley just for this reason.
But it's to late for your freind. There are others on this board who may offer a better answer.

If not you can try this site Vermont Maple Sugar Makers' Association & Vermont Maple Foundation

If the sap is already running I would suggest they collect the sap in their 325 gallon container and then cart or carry it the rest of the way to the sugar shack. Many containers designed for sap collection are designed to be hauled in a cart or sled as well. Can he put the collection container in a tractor wagon, leave it there and haul it up when it is full?

This will buy them time to figure out their problem.

Phil