Spring/Summer Food Plots

/ Spring/Summer Food Plots #1  

N80

Tractor
Kubota L4400 4wd w/LA 703 FEL
I've managed to scratch a few small food plots in the rocky, clay soil on my place. Largest is maybe 1/3 acre. Smaller ones are no more than strips through the woods. Planted oats in the fall with okay results for the type of low budget operation I have (tractor, box blade scarifiers, hand push fertilizer spreader.)

I'm wondering what to plant in the spring for deer (and turkey to a lesser extent). Again, low budget. Whatever it is will have to be broadcast.

Plan on 'tilling' (with box blade teeth) and liming this weekend.

I'm in SC. Within a few weeks we will be unlikely to see any more frost.

Any thoughts? Chufa? Some type of clover? I'm new at this and need all the help I can get. Thanks.

/ Spring/Summer Food Plots #2  
I planted a couple small patches of Bio-Logic Full Draw a couple of years ago. It turned out nice. The only problem is it was annual. If I do it again, I'm going to plant something similar that is perrenial. That way it will last a few years.

/ Spring/Summer Food Plots #3  
George,

I've failed at everything I've tried so far, but I'm still trying. hahaha Clover was about the worse disaster, but bird seed wasn't any better. Of the mixes that I bought from Cabelas and Bass Pro Shop, bio logic was the only one I saw deer eating in.

I was talking to a local guy the other day who puts in food plots for aliving for some of the larger ranches here in Texas, Louisiana and New Mexico. He said that Austrian Peas are the best. So that's what I'm going to use next.

There is allot of guys on the hunting forums who like Lab-Lab and I'm curious about it too, but when I tried to buy some, I couldn't find it locally. He said it's ok, but not as good as the peas for bringing in the deer.