SAFETY WARNING: Using Loader to Lift with Chains

/ SAFETY WARNING: Using Loader to Lift with Chains #1  

glennmac

Veteran Member
Tractor
2003 Kubota L3430
There is a current thread I started to discuss the merits of chains vs. ropes to lift things with the loader. I am very angry with myself. I read fine print for a living, yet I neglected to read my FEL owners manual and labels before turning to this forum.

The Kubota answer to this question is clear: ALL FORMS OF CHAIN/ROPE/CABLE LIFTING ARE PROHIBITED.

The Kubota LA402 loader manual has 37 paragraphs of safety precautions. Most of precautions are contingent--ie, the caution uses words such as "strongy recommended" (seat belt and ROPS, eg), or "exercise extra caution when", or "avoid", or "protect yourself by". The word "never" is used in an absolute sense in only two places: going or reaching under a raised bucket and the following:

"Never lift or pull any load from any point of the loader with a chain, rope, or cable. Doing so could cause a roll over or serious damage to the loader."

There is also a label on my loader that addresses this specific issue. It reads: "NEVER connect chain, cable or rope to a loader bucket while operating loader." (The upper case is on the label.) This is the only safety label on the entire tractor that is required by Kubota to be AFFIXED IN TWO PLACES. There is one such label on each side of the loader above the loader quick release pins. There are two other prohibitions on this label: "DO NOT stand or work under raised loader or bucket", and "DO NOT use loader as a work platform."