help a city girl burn brush!

/ help a city girl burn brush! #1  

dahlsteinm

I know this is going to sound crazy, but I need everyones help!
I am a Registered Nurse and I work in the Burn ICU. Over the past four years our number of burns that have been throwing gas on brush piles is astounding. Unforunately the majority of these burns spend 3-4 months in our ICU (and leave with a bill of over $1 million dollars IF they survive and I place a HUGE emphasis on IF...because they typically do not!)

We are initiating a campaign to educate especially farmers on safe burning practices. Here is the problem: I am a city girl! I have never burned a brush pile in my life! We know this is something that has to be done we just want it to be done safely. So here are a few questions:

1. How do you safely burn a brush pile?
2. Do any communites have alternatives to disposing of brush piles besides burning?
3. I just read about people using leaf blowers? Some how this does not seem like a safe practice!
4. Are there tools made to safely burn a bursh pile? i.e. long non-flammable sticks to lite a fire?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. This is a HUGE problem and you would be assisting me in saving many lives each year!

/ help a city girl burn brush! #2  
Compost service. Hire people to come pickup the brush and chip it at their facility for compost. I would suspect that people that throw gas on a brush fire also have never burned brush before. There isn't any "safe" way to do it. It is a dangerous activity and the best you can do is to take as many precautions as possible....those are many and varied. here are a few of mine: wait for rain and burn in the rain, have a water hose close and at the ready, scrape an area around the pile down to dirt as a fire break -- 15 - 20 ft wide is pretty good. Starting? I use fire starter bricks. they start easily and slow (slow is good)

/ help a city girl burn brush! #4  
Used motor oil works well instead of gasoline.