Pulling with the Drawbar

/ Pulling with the Drawbar #1  

Caretaker

Bronze Member
Western New Hampshire, Conn. River Valley
Tractor
John Deere 4100 Hydro, Turf Tires
I'm pretty new at tractoring, and I need some guidance on pulling with the drawbar. I've read some of the other posts about safety, and I seem to recall a couple of folks talking about pulling out stumps, etc. with a chain hitched to the drawbar.

My understanding is that one should never hook something to the drawbar that has any chance of not coming loose - because the high torque of a tractor can cause it to flip over faster than you can think about it! I believe I also read that one doesn't loop a chain around the rear axle for the same reason. As I recall, an old farmer told me that the proper way to pull something that might not want to give is to hook the chain to the front tow point, with the said tow point being tied permanently to the frame. Am I disremembering here?

My uneducated understanding is that the drawbar is reserved for pulling implements ONLY, those not designed for 3-Pt mount. But, the more I can do with my tractor, the more valuable it is to me - I'm up to 10 different implements and counting. As a wise person once said - "Learn the Rules so that you know WHEN and HOW you can break them, and get away with it".

These safety posts have been very useful so far. I blush now as I think of operating the FEL joystick from beside the tractor, instead of having my ignorant rear-end firmly planted in the seat! And far worse, my tendency to try to wear out the rockshaft control while standing beside the 3-Pt implement. At least I am consistent about wearing the seatbelt and trusting the ROPS, and I do stay out from underneath lifted buckets. Good thing that someone usually watches out for fools!

Any thoughts, suggestions, experiences ?

/ Pulling with the Drawbar #2  
Caretaker,