Metal working safety

/ Metal working safety #1  

OutbackL130

Silver Member
Tractor
L130, 420
I've been a metal fabricator for 7 years since I was 16. I have always been concerned about breathing in metal dust and fumes created by the grinding, cutting and welding that I do for a living. I went to school for welding, but they never instructed on respiratory safety. I run my own fabrication business now and therefore have no company regulations or coworkers to ask for advice on safety.

I'm looking for advice from others who work in metal fabricaton.

I know you can get lung siderosis from breathing in iron dust and am trying to understand the amount of time it takes to be at risk. Is this likely to happen over a short term period of 10 years or long term 40 years of working? Can my doctor tell if I have iron building up in my lungs?

I switched to using a TCT chop saw which produces metal chips instead of the regular abrasive chop saws which make a lot of fine metal dust powder. The metal chips of the tct saw are too large to be breathed in, but I was wondering if it still makes any microscopic dust that will get in my lungs? The manufacturer does not require a dust mask to be worn, so am I safe to assume this saw will not contribute to lung siderosis?

Silicosis occurs from breathing in silica dust such as from jack hammering concrete. Well I use zirconia flap wheels on my grinders which I think the zirconia grit is a type of silica. I go through 20 flap wheels a month and would have to think some of the zirconia would be getting into my lungs as the flap wheels are used up. Is this really a potential hazard or am I just over thinking the small amount of zirconia coming off the flap wheels?

Respirators are not practical in my shop and I do not wear them for welding, grinding or cutting. It is too hot, they are too bulky and interfere with the use of saftey glasses and face shields.