Tractors on hills

/ Tractors on hills #1  

kenlip

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5100 with Challenge FEL and 4:1
As as total novice in the world of tractors, I am trying to tabulate the correct protocols for handing tractors on hills. This is only about going up or down hills, and not about riding along a slope.

Please have a look a the attached PDF of my first draft and comment as you see fit. I hope that, with help from all of you who have vast experience with tractors, I'll be able to refine this into something accurate and useful to the more novice tractor users.

Thanks
Ken

View attachment TRACTOR HILL SAFETY 01.pdf

Attachments

• TRACTOR HILL SAFETY 01.pdf
    41.2 KB · Views: 448
   / Tractors on hills #2  
As as total novice in the world of tractors, I am trying to tabulate the correct protocols for handing tractors on hills. This is only about going up or down hills, and not about riding along a slope.

Please have a look a the attached PDF of my first draft and comment as you see fit. I hope that, with help from all of you who have vast experience with tractors, I'll be able to refine this into something accurate and useful to the more novice tractor users.

Thanks
Ken

View attachment 529514

/ Tractors on hills #3  
I found your chart difficult to visualize as an experienced operator. To be fair I didn't spend a lot of time reading it. One thing I did when driving across a steep hill was put the FEL bucket on the ground and if equipped swing the backhoe arm up the hill.

/ Tractors on hills #4  
It's different between 2 wheel drive tractors vs. ones with 4 wheel drive... 4 wheel drive basically transfer braking from rear wheel and applies that to the front tires.

/ Tractors on hills #5  
I "stumbled" a bit on reading about jack-knifing with a rear (3-pt) implement.

Bruce

/ Tractors on hills