safety and being in a hurry

/ safety and being in a hurry #1  

jimg

Veteran Member
Heres a good story about why safety is still important even when theres a deadline to meet. The incident certainly changed Allen's life --
"He says that the toughest part of this incident has been losing some of his independence. “I can operate the baler but can’t brush my teeth…go figure.”"

http://www.agrability.biz/newsletter/october_2003/1.cfm

/ safety and being in a hurry #2  
Based on my experiences and observations, being in a hurry is probably the biggest single cause of "accidents", whether it is on the farm or on the highway.

/ safety and being in a hurry #3  
And being tired probably follows real close...

/ safety and being in a hurry #4  
Hi
The more work and or playing you do the more chance you have of having an accident. So to be more safe I have just about stopped working.

Charlie.

/ safety and being in a hurry #5  
Hmm, good point there. I have been driving for well over 30 years with no accidents, maybe I am pushing the envelope and should quit driving before I have an accident /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ safety and being in a hurry #6  
yep you're pretty close to the edge

Charlie

/ safety and being in a hurry #7  
I concur that being tired and in a hurry are the two greatest contributing factors to having an accident...there are many times I want to hurry and take a shortcut which may save time but is a dumb thing to do.

My method is, I ask myself, how much time will I save by:
Not using the proper tool or safety glasses, or jogging the ladder so I don't have to go down and move it, or by not using my seat belt and putting up the ROPS on my tractor, etc.

Then I ask myself, how much will I LOSE if something happens when I take a shortcut....injuries, medical bills, pain, possible loss of eyesight or body parts, etc.