Snapper RER vs. Simplicity RER

/ Snapper RER vs. Simplicity RER #1  

spiders96

Hi,

I live in Georgia and have a lawn of Emerald Zoysia, which is very thick and lush. My yard is about 1/2 acre, and I have been using a walk behind mower for the past 5 years. I am interested in purchasing a new riding mower, and I need a little advice. Most of the models available now appear to be either the tractor style or the zero turn radius style. I've been told that the rear engine rider mowers will provide the best quality cut overall because of the single blade. The tractors, of course, are widely available in many brands, but I wouldn't use it for anything except mowing.

Since I've never owned a riding mower of any type, I am interested in hearing what other people say about them.

I've been looking at both Snapper and Simplicity. They are both owned by the same parent company but are manufactured independently. I find the Hi-Vac deck of the Snapper appealing but it does not have the hydrostatic drive that the Simplicity Coronet has. The Coronet appears to be a little nicer overall and has the special rollers for the floating deck, but does it provide enough vacuum force when bagging a manicured lawn? Which of the 2 will most likely provide the superior cut?

Also, there is actually one tractor I have been looking at but probably won't purchase in the end. It's the Husqvarna YTH2348 now available at Lowe's. I like the 3 blade design and the 5 casters to help float the deck. Does anyone have a perspective on the quality of cut and durability of the Husqvarna tractors? I'm doubtfull that it would be as good as the Snapper or Simplicity, but I would like to hear opinions either way.

Thanks very much for any advice! :)

-Joe

/ Snapper RER vs. Simplicity RER #2