Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Chains for Snow

/ Chains for Snow #1  

JDGreenGrass

Veteran Member
Tractor
John Deere 770
Howdy everyone.

First post and first time tractor owner. I've got a lot to learn and I hope you all can help.

I bought a JD770 used....'92 with 2500 hours and in real good shape. I have just 2 acres with a large driveway. Got sick of snowblowing so I moved up to the bucket. I live in Maine and the past 2 winters have been very white and very deep.

So, my tractor is 4wd but I wonder....will I need chains?? My rear tires are 12.4X16 Ags if that helps at all. I did purchase a 3pt. Carry All and I will use that loaded with firewood for rear weight.

I am thinking I will be better off with chains. If so, what style of chain....Just a double link or a chain with "picks"?

As you can tell I my terminology is lacking. Hey, cut me some slack....I'm a newb.;)

/ Chains for Snow #2  
My 3-1/2 cents.... I firmly believe a snowblower is much more efficient than a bucket- I bought my tractor specifically for that purpose, and have been very pleased. I take the FEL off in late fall, put the blower on, and seldom need the loader after that-- think I've put it on in the winter a couple of times only. (I'm assuming you've been using a walk-behind blower like I used to; there's really no comparison between that and a tractor-powered blower!!)

Concerning chains... I use my backhoe for rear ballast, and have not needed to use (yet) the chains I purchased for the rear when I bought the tractor. It has 4WD and turf tires.

With Ag tires, if you need/want chains, you need to have the type that will not simply sink in between the ribs- do a search on this forum and you'll find some great info concerning chains.

Welcome to TBN!

Attachments

• Blowing 12:17-2.JPG
    Blowing 12:17-2.JPG
    154 KB · Views: 243
  • blower 12:1:08.jpg
    blower 12:1:08.jpg
    568.8 KB · Views: 436
   / Chains for Snow
Thank you for the post neighbor.