Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Snow plowing with Tractor vs ATV

/ Snow plowing with Tractor vs ATV #1  

CowwFace

Gold Member
Tractor
Kioti DK45SE HST, 401FEL, RB40-96 pivoting Rear Blade
Hey List,

Well I just wanted to post a quick note here about pushing snow with a tractor vs ATV. We have got about 3.5 feet of snow here in Conifer and this is my first year using my tractor to push it around the driveway and our road... about 1/4mile long. I've just been using the front end loader. I just push until I get to the end of the road. The snow seems to make it's own "V" plow for me after it gets pretty big. I'm amazed at how much snow I can push without the tractor boging down or spinning. With this much snow, the ATV would have been difficult because there is noplace to sideplow it to.. the edges are allready 3 feet high.

Overall my obversations:

1) The tractor is MUCH better for larger amounts of snow like this. (3-4 feet)
2) The tractor is MUCH LESS forgiving to the landscaping and other obstacles. For example I "kissed" the street sign and bent it over a bit... (used the backside of the bucket to pull it upright again before anyone saw... hopefully)
3) Why push snow with a $5000.00 ATV when you can use a $20,000.00 Tractor... only makes sense...???? hehehe

I'll post some pic's of the piles for you more southernly TBN'ers.

Carry on,
Phill

/ Snow plowing with Tractor vs ATV #2  
Glad to hear this as I am entering my first Maine winter with a tractor.

What size is your tractor.?? What tires.?? Chains.??

Hopefully, between the bucket and the blade and the tractor, I will be a happy camper.

How's the skiing out there.??

/ Snow plowing with Tractor vs ATV #3  
Can't wait for the pics having snow withdrawls here, but can wait a little while longer to get some more wood cut.

Are you just using the bucket or do you have a blade or snowblower also?

/ Snow plowing with Tractor vs ATV #4  
The tractor is MUCH LESS forgiving to the landscaping and other obstacles