Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Pictures of your snow weapons

/ Pictures of your snow weapons #2,301  
problem with my experience plowing from front, when you angle the blade, it pushes the tractor in opposite direction. i had to use chains.

Yes - I am sure I will have some issues mid winter when there is compaction / ice. Questions for the masses - I am a novice when it comes to chains and was shocked to find so many different designs and prices - could someone direct me as to which ones are better than others (in the way of design) as well as which offer a good return (ie value)?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

/ Pictures of your snow weapons #2,302  
Yes - I am sure I will have some issues mid winter when there is compaction / ice. Questions for the masses - I am a novice when it comes to chains and was shocked to find so many different designs and prices - could someone direct me as to which ones are better than others (in the way of design) as well as which offer a good return (ie value)?

I just went with simple and not real pricey 4 link ladder chains front and rear and they work fine

Attachments

• HPIM1279.JPG
    HPIM1279.JPG
    150.3 KB · Views: 269
   / Pictures of your snow weapons #2,303  

Choice of chains depends on the surface you intend to drive on...as well as if you expect more snow or ice.
If the areas you intend to clear are asphalt or concrete, 2 or 4 link ladder types would be well with minimal damage to the asphalt (or concrete).
4 link ladders have a bumpier ride but are quite a bit less expensive and weigh less.
If the surface is gavel or dirt...pretty much any type of chain will work.

I have 4 link ladder type which I've used on both hard pack gravel and asphalt...for me, just the rear tires get chained and I don't use front wheel assist as much as I used to...don't need it.