Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Please Educate me!

/ Please Educate me! #1  

Gonerafting

Silver Member
Tractor
x744
I am totally new to plowing snow. I have a X744 with a 54 inch plow. I'm sure most of you are familar with this, totally hydraulic. Here are the questions I have.
1) Floating, I assume this has to do with keeping the blade at a distance from the surface being plowed, whether 1/2 an inch to 3 to 4 inches which is determined by how uneven the surface is.
2) Hydraulic vs Chain floating- I assume this has to do with limiting the the downward position of the blade when floating
3) The Skids- What position should they be in? Are they positioned to float the blade or just set at an position to prevent the blade from striking the surface when the float distance is exceed?
4) Obviously, I assume the setting of the float position of the blade is probably determined by how irregular the surface being plowed is, correct?

I know these may seen like dumb or simple questions, but I new to this, thanks.

/ Please Educate me! #2  
I"ll try to help:
Float=no down pressure on blade,just the weight of the blade
this allows the blade to follow the contours.All the way down on
the skids if you have them.
If you raise the blade from this position;you do not have
float.I.E. you raise it two inches..it is fixed.
If you are down on the skids and the skids are set at two inches you will leave two inches of snow(dirt ect.)
Pictures of your set-up would help.

/ Please Educate me!
I ordered the plow from the Dealer and do not have it yet. Basically, a 54 inch blade controlled hydraulically both vertically and horizontally. I also have chains and suitcase weights on the back. Jim

/ Please Educate me! #4