Pushing Snow Across the dirt road and down into the ditch

/ Pushing Snow Across the dirt road and down into the ditch #1  

BlackRaptor

Gold Member
Tractor
John Deere 3320
Okay guys maybe this is a stupid question and i do understand that laws are different from place to place but as a general rule of thumb.

For the past 19 years so since i was 12 I have taken the snow at the end up the driveway the plow pushes into the driveway and just ran the tractor down and pushed it into the ditch straight across from the driveway i always push it down into the ditch a little so its not right on the side of the road and i ALWAYS clean up the lines left on the dirt road from pushing the snow. Well for the first time in 19 years the guy who lives down the road one of the good old boys drove up telling me what i'm doing is illegal and what not. Funny thing is he has lived next to us my whole life but i purchased the farm from my parents this year so its my first year out here.
I was very respectful don't feel like picking any fights and if its generally illegal and i knew that i would never have just find it odd after 19 years its all of the sudden a problem. I'll never push into the ditch just out of respect.
But for the rest fo you guys living on small dirt roads is it illegal in on your road to do this?
Thanks for the info. This is more one of those surprised questions and wondering if i'm really that in the dark.

/ Pushing Snow Across the dirt road and down into the ditch #2  
This is the state law in michigan cant see where your from via my phone.

Michigan Snow Statute MCL 257.677a—Snow, ice, slush on roadway (1) As used in this section: (a) “Person” shall not include the state or a political subdivision of the state or an employee of the state or a political subdivision of the state operating within the scope of his duties. (b) “Safety vision” means an unobstructed line of sight enabling a driver to travel upon, enter, or exit a roadway in a safe manner.