Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Frontier AF12 Front Blade Skids

/ Frontier AF12 Front Blade Skids #1  

corey9212

Platinum Member
Tractor
2015 John Deere 3046R
Hello, I was getting my front blade ready for the snow season (this is my first time using it) I put the skids on their lowest setting but they don't touch the ground when the blade is put into the float position (there is a good 1.5"-2" before they are on the ground and I would like them so the blade is 1" off the ground until a hard base is established), what can I do to fix it so I don't take the gravel with me when I push the snow.

Also any tips on using a front blade to push snow?
Thank you.

/ Frontier AF12 Front Blade Skids #2  
If you tilt the top of the blade back a bit (like you'd curl the bucket back), can the skid shoes touch the ground, or get close?

/ Frontier AF12 Front Blade Skids
If you tilt the top of the blade back a bit (like you'd curl the bucket back), can the skid shoes touch the ground, or get close?

No, I tried curling it back as far as it can go (keeping the frame it's attached to off the ground) and there is still lots of clearance between the skids and the ground.

/ Frontier AF12 Front Blade Skids #4  
I'm curious about this...

When you put the loader in Float, is the loader hitting it's stops before the blade (and skid shoes) can touch the ground?. What happens if you push the control to dump rather then curl?
And rather then float, do the shoes touch when not in float? (doubt it, since I think you're hitting the loader stops).
Does the blade touch the ground if the skid shoes weren't adjusted down? Even if it doesn't touch the ground, is the cutting edge closer then the 1.5-2"?

It sounds like the blade or QA plate is misaligned to the loader frame. If so, that's a factory defect, based upon how you described it.

I'm curious about this...