Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Newbie plow tripping

/ Newbie plow tripping #1  

RNeumann

Elite Member
Tractor
Mahindra 1538
I am new to snow removal. I have a 38hp tractor and chains on the front tires. The blade has 2 large springs for the trip mechanism. It also has hydraulic angle.

I used the thing for the first time today. I set the feet and was using the float feature for the FEL. It seamed like anytime I wanted to push a pile (anything more than about 10" or so) or widen an edge it would trip the blade. I'm sure it was taking some force to do so but it didn't seem like it. It felt nothing like getting sand in the bucket or any other bucket work. In fact I felt nothing at all- it just tripped.

Is this a normal part of the safety feature? If so are folks switching back to the regular bucket to move piles etc? I tried to move the piles 6-12" at a time.

Thanks for the advice....front snow blades are a whole new adventure!

/ Newbie plow tripping #2  
Normally they will trip when the bottom edge catches something on the ground, like ice sticking up or a rock. It's better for the blade to trip rather than bend something on the blade or FEL. If you are using it with the FEL in float, that puts even more weight and pressure on that edge so it is more likely to trip. Also, if you curl the blade too far forward it applies more force on the lower edge as it tries to climb up the snow pile and can trip the blade easier.
Try to keep the blade vertical rather than leaning forward or backward. Keep the FEL raised just enough to hold the blade off the ground to move the bulk of the snow, then come back and scrape it clean. If your blade has float built in, raise the FEL enough to keep the weight off the blade, allowing the blade to float on it's own (this is the best method).

/ Newbie plow tripping #3  
What style of blade do you have? IS this a SSQA blade made for a tractor, or a converted truck plow?