Chains for snow

/ Chains for snow #1  

redleg105

Tractor
Kubota 2650
I have a 1000 foot long dirt driveway with a few slight grades which are enough to make the tractor slide in snow. Tractor is Kubota 2650 with front mount blower. Looking at a set of Titan round twist link chains for 12.4R16 tires. Need some advice. Only need them in Winter. Photo shows chains and type of tire I have.

Attachments

• s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    227.2 KB · Views: 193
   / Chains for snow #3  
I had been shopping around for a few months on and off for a set of chains for the new to me Bobcat CT450 tractor and just ordered a set of chains from tirechainsrus.com free shipping in lower 48 which made them the best deal I could find.

I ordered their duo grip chains in 14.9 x 24 with a pair of tensioners as well for 453 bucks. Most other Duo grip style in this size were more expensive or close to the same price but shipping adds anywhere from 50-100 bucks to most sites price.

Duo Tractor Tire Chains | Free US Shipping

Last edited:
   / Chains for snow #4  
Even though they cost more I highly recommend the euro style chain, they will positively anchor you in place, the ride is much smoother.
The duo grip will give you a bump on every tie point. The street type will dropdown in between your lugs some even on your R4 tires.
I can run down the road at 15-18 mph if I need to with mine, smooth ride amazing traction, no side slip and they don't tear up or mark up the paved road much.
Branson chains.jpg
The rear ones seem the best overall, the fronts are a bit too aggressive.

/ Chains for snow #5  
1000’ Road with a little grade on a dirt drive? Skip all the fancy stuff and get some chains online for the fronts only. They should run under $200. I’ve had zero sliding on my tractor with front chains. I use a plow, box and bucket. I blower is far easier to control with the low speeds.

Mahindra 1538 snow blade/plow setup - YouTube

/ Chains for snow #6