Anyone Bent Their FEL Using a Snow Plow

/ Anyone Bent Their FEL Using a Snow Plow #1  

Hilbilly

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota Grand L6060HSTCC
I am about to pull the trigger on a loader mounted snow plow but have some concerns so I'm looking for anyone that has personal experience with; 1) loader mounted snow plows and 2) a long rough gravel driveway.

My driveway is a mile long and all gravel with some spots where there are large nuggets protruding up. I've been using a rear blade and rear blower for the last 9 years and getting tired of trying to blow snow that has been packed down by continuously driving over it before the rear blade does its job. My tractor is a Massey 1547 with a 1530 ( I think) loader. The loader currently has a 72" bucket on it but I want to put a 96" snow plow on it with hydraulics to swing it. The loader I'm looking at is an HLA 2000 and it has a crossover relief valve on it and trip springs, which I hope will protect the loader from damage if I hit some of those nuggets or frozen snow along the edge of the driveway when trying to push the snow as wide as possible. I have the tires mounted to their max width or close to it. They are 72" outside to outside and the plow 96" plow would have a plowing width of 79" when fully tilted.

A third related question is; have any of the members damaged their loaders by using a loader mounted plow?

Edit; forgot to mention that the plow will not be mounted the bucket and will have its own SSQA mount.

/ Anyone Bent Their FEL Using a Snow Plow #2  
I put my plow on mounted to the bucket. It was hinged and had chains/springs to the bucket hook. That absorbed the shock.

When I was concerned about hitting something, I just angled the blade (top forward) and it slid over frozen rocks that were poking up a bit.

I got tired of not having my bucket available, so I stopped using the plow and just use the bucket now.