Snow Equipment Owning/Operating Plowing Snow with a FEL?

/ Plowing Snow with a FEL? #1  

rameye

Silver Member
Tractor
Zetor C-42 with HL50 loader
I'm new to tractoring, learning with each use (10hrs up to now) anyway I plan on using my tractor's FEL for plowing and snow removal. It's a steep driveway about 400' long, the area is in the NH "snowbelt". The tractor is 40hp, 4wd with front chains for the winter, and loaded tires. I also have a heavy duty back blade (7ft woods), I plan to use that to catch what the FEL misses. My olde plow girl has gone to Dodge ram heaven 1976-2004 thus a new tractor takes her place. I am familiar with the driveway, plowed it for two years and had a routine.

What kind of problems can I expect? Anything I should know before my first attempt? I'm low on $$ so snowblower attachments and plow attachments are not an option for this year.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

/ Plowing Snow with a FEL? #4  
I live in the snow belt in central NY and have been plowing or blowing snow for 25 years. If I have time, I'll use the FEL to clean out my turnout, but it's very time consuming. My driveway is over 800 ft long, with an 80" blower I'm done in 30 - 40 minutes, no matter how much snow we have.

I'm sure you can get by with the FEL and the backblade, but it's going to take some time to clear anything over a few inches. Do you still have the plow off your old truck? If so, you could rig it up as a front mount on the tractor. You can push a lot more snow than you can drag, and you don't have to drive over it or kill your neck by using the back blade in reverse.

I plowed for years with a tractor and a truck and 5 yrs ago I switched to a large blower, I'll never go back to a plow.

/ Plowing Snow with a FEL? #5  
Rameye,