2002 BX2200 & RCK60B MMM

/ 2002 BX2200 & RCK60B MMM
Tom_H said:
I am not a mechanic. I am a school teacher. The basic work on a BX does not require the skill of a mechanic. It just takes a little patience and the willingness to learn.

However, you obviously enjoy working on machinery. The average homeowner does not have the time or the patience to deal with the BX maintenance schedule. Heck, the average homeowner does not service his/her own lawn tractor, and lawn tractors are an order of magnitude simpler to maintain than the BX (not too mention that they can be serviced with a minimal set of tools).

Most homeowners are not going to spend an entire weekend figuring out how to align a 300lb mower deck and fixing assembly problems. However, that is how I spent this past weekend. Figuring out how to put that tension spring back on the sway bar would have been too much for the average homeowner as the spring needs to be compressed to put the nut back on. I finally used a large screwdriver to pry the sway bar up high enough to have a few threads sticking up through the top washer; however, that was not before seriously considering calling in a professional.

/ 2002 BX2200 & RCK60B MMM #12