45DA w/ Backhoe?

/ 45DA w/ Backhoe? #1  

cjtinkle

Tractor
2007 John Deere 4320
Hi All,
A few years back ya'll were invaluable to our decision making process when we bought our tractor, a 45D. Since then, we've sold our old farm, gone fulltime in our RV, and just bought another 60 acres of wooded, hilly land in the Ozarks.

Seeings how well we loved our 45D (which was stolen off the dealer's lot!) I suspect we'll buy the same tractor, (now called the 45DA?).

Our new land has about 10 acres or so in bottom land, but it's mostly fairly steep, and completely wooded. We'll be building a new homestead/hobby farm from scratch. We will probably clear about 5 acres for pasture, and another 1 or 2 for gardens and orchard.

The "road" in is about 1/8 or a 1/4 mile (I'm not good at guessing) and is a grass path at the moment, so needs graded and ditched and graveled, but the tree removal is mostly done.

We'll be running water and power lines, working on creek banks, possibly adding a small pond, of course footing work for buildings, electric lines, etc. The whole gamut.

Is this tractor still enough tractor? Are the backhoe attachments you can add really worthwhile or would they be a waste of money in Ozark soil?

Last time, I was the one using the tractor on our 90 acres, mostly for brushogging (50 acres) and some barn and yard work. I loved it. But it wasn't used for any heavy work as my husband was on the road. This time he'll be the main operator, we want enough tractor, but of course would like to stay as small as we can.

Appreciate any comments and ideas.
CJ

/ 45DA w/ Backhoe? #2  
Welcome back cjtinkle,

Since it seems everyone is still recuperating /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif I'll respond with my 2 cents worth.

All I can say is....I wish I was in your shoes. New property & lots of it plus buying a (NEW ?) 45DA possibly....must be nice. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif