Any Gurus of the English Wheel out there?

/ Any Gurus of the English Wheel out there?
MikeD74T said:
JDeereman, I have no experience with an English wheel but believe that their principal function is to stretch metal. If you have dents the metal is already streched. Have you done any searches for "shrinking metal" to remove dents? MikeD74T
like this: Welding/Metal-Finishing
Good article Mike. thanks. talks about things I haven't considered. sounds like my next step should be to remove one of these dented panels and take it to a good body shop or two and see what they have to say about those dents.

Theo

/ Any Gurus of the English Wheel out there? #12  
JDeereman said:
. it's more a matter of pride and knowing that I did it right

Who says repairing the panels without an English wheel is not doing the job right? There is a great deal puffery and delusion out there over the right and wrong way to repair a panel. I do take a great deal of pride in my work. I have had vehicles brought to me from all over the country, and I have worked on my share of antiques, show cars and bikes.

If you want a really nice job, your only going to get it so close metal finishing it, No matter how hard you work at it, or what you use. Even a lot of the time when you use brand new panels, the rest of the job has to done with either filler or primer. The guys that do "no Bondo" repairs load up the panels with heavy fill primer, which is the same thing as using body filler, (filler is filler, both are made from polyester), except the primer costs a lot more, and because of all the trapped solvents, shrinks up more down the road.

So, if your one of those "I don't want no Bondo in my car" guys, get over it. If you possess the skills, the repairs won't be a third class hatchet job, they will be undetectable. Doing the job right is not about what tools you use, its about how it looks and how it holds up when your done.

/ Any Gurus of the English Wheel out there?
ray66v said: