Are Hanson tools OK??

/ Are Hanson tools OK?? #1  

banjodunn

Veteran Member
G'day all I am looking for a set of metric taps and dies, now my local snap on man is trying to flog me his stuff at a price well that is a little high for what i will need it for ( Close to $600 aus:( ). I am a professional mech and do not mind spending good money on my tools but a quick search on fleabay this morn came up with a hanson brand set that to me looked identical to the S/O set BUT delivered to my door for @$200 aus. They are not something I will use every day but in saying that I do not want it to break the first time i use it either. Hope some of you guys have had exp with this brand and may be able to shed a bit of light on a brand not seen over here. Thanks to one and all

Jon

/ Are Hanson tools OK?? #2  
G'day all I am looking for a set of metric taps and dies, now my local snap on man is trying to flog me his stuff at a price well that is a little high for what i will need it for ( Close to $600 aus:( ). I am a professional mech and do not mind spending good money on my tools but a quick search on fleabay this morn came up with a hanson brand set that to me looked identical to the S/O set BUT delivered to my door for @$200 aus. They are not something I will use every day but in saying that I do not want it to break the first time i use it either. Hope some of you guys have had exp with this brand and may be able to shed a bit of light on a brand not seen over here. Thanks to one and all

Jon

If they are carbon steel taps and dies they will only last for a very short time. If they are high speed steel taps and dies you should get very good use from them.

/ Are Hanson tools OK?? #3  
I'm not an overly big fan of Irwin Hanson taps as I've found them to be brittle and easily broken. Personally I suggest you buy taps as you need them so you get the good stuff. How many times do you need to thread a piece of rod? If not at all, all those dies in the set will just sit there.