Basic Question on Return and Return to Tank on Open Center Systems

/ Basic Question on Return and Return to Tank on Open Center Systems #1  

bigmarley98

Tractor
Kubota 2610
So I am new to Hydraulics but am in the process of adding rear remotes to my LX2610 that would come off the power beyond supply lines I use for my BH77 backhoe. I think I have it figured out, but came across something doing my research that I would like to understand - I don't think I need it for my configuration but it has been nagging at me.

My backhoe, the BH77, has two lines. One is the power coming in, and the other is the return which is under pressure. In doing some reasearch I came across someone that did something similar with a BH70 backhoe, but the difference is it has three lines - the Power, Return (under pressure), and a third line with is return to tank and from what I understand low pressure.

So - why the difference between these two backhoes? Why does one need a return to tank and not the other? The only thing I have come across is that some hdyraulic valves/cylindes/motors use oil not just for power but for lubrication, or there may be some leakage outside of the hydrualic circuit and they need to get rid of it. Would that be the case here - the BH70 has different compenents that need to get rid of excess oil, but the BH77 does not? I just want to make sure I am not missing anything here.

/ Basic Question on Return and Return to Tank on Open Center Systems #2  
Are you sure the single return from the BH can see full pressure? On my backhoe the valve stack has only one output and it's not a full pressure output. It's only good for about 750 psi. Since the backhoe loop is between the loader valve and the three point hitch, you're not supposed to operate the three point hitch with the backhoe mounted. Which is ok because you can't use it with the backhoe in place.