Snow Attachments FEL Blade Question for Snow

/ FEL Blade Question for Snow #1  

Anonymous Poster

I have a JD 4410 with a power angle blade for the FEL. I plan to use it to plow snow. I tried it a little on the gravel driveway for some light grading and the skid plates dug in to the drivway and made a mess. Is there any solution to this other than waiting for the ground to freeze?

Can I remove the plates? or can I raise the blade and use it differently than I am obviosly doing?.

Also, the blade has two springs...but I am not sure if I have the pins set up correctly...how do I know if the springs are set right so they will trip?

I am new to this operation so any help or advice wpuld be appreciated.

/ FEL Blade Question for Snow #2  
You can certainly remove the skid plates from your blade if you choose. You can also raise or lower the blade as conditions warrant. As to the spring set up, one sure way to check it is to take the bottom edge of your blade into a stump at 4-5 mph.. If the blade folds forward then straightens back up when you bounce off, the springs are right. /w3tcompact/icons/grin.gif

Or, I suppose you could look in your owner's manual. /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

/ FEL Blade Question for Snow #3  
You can remove the skid plates, but I'd look into making them bigger so that they float better. I had a JD garden tractor with 54" front blade. The skids dug into the gravel all the time (ground never seemed to freeze before it snowed last year). However, I found that I ended up with less gravel in the grass using the skids than without.

Now I have a NH with a Landpride rear blade. It's skid shoes (optional) are significantly bigger than my old front blade. For fun I tested it this summer. It still drags thru the gravel, but "floats" the blade above it much better.

In any case, the plow will work better once the ground freezes.

Good luck & happy tractoring

/ FEL Blade Question for Snow #4