Front wheel snapped OFF! Yowsa!!!

/ Front wheel snapped OFF! Yowsa!!! #1  

tower59

Hello, all! So I was minding my own business, shredding a nice, flat pasture in my Mahindra 5525 2WD when all of a sudden *KAWHOOMP*!!! My left front wheel snapped off of the tractor! Didn't know that was even a possibility. The tractor is about 9 years old with about 350 hours on it. I'm not an expert here, but it looks like the wheel just broke- note in the picture that the interior rim of the wheel itself has a piece that has broken off. The good news is that I wasn't hurt, it didn't roll, and I had my seatbelt on. The bad news is that the tractor is seriously out of commission. So, (1) what exactly do you experts think happened? , (2) how do you fix it?, and (3) how would you get this thing on a trailer? (I'm taking this somewhere to get it worked on- it's out of my league.) Appreciate any and all suggestions!!!

IMG_2445.JPGIMG_2443.JPG

/ Front wheel snapped OFF! Yowsa!!! #2  
Do you have a loader on your tractor? If so you can use it to lift the front up and either back it to a place you can work on it or you may need to get help to drag it.
This happened to me with my Kubota and I was in too steep of an area so got a friend to help pull it with his 4X4 on to the roadway where it would move it's self.On mine, 4 wheel drive, it was a short stub shaft that hadn't been welded all the way when built so I just replaced that part and it's been fine since.
I think if you look at it close, once you have it in a better place, and get over the shock of it happening you will see that it isn't that hard of a fix.

/ Front wheel snapped OFF! Yowsa!!! #3