Gad Zerks, Batman! Help me, Oscar Zerk!

/ Gad Zerks, Batman! Help me, Oscar Zerk! #1  

Truman17

Tractor
Kubota B7800
My Disclaimer: I am a rookie tractor owner and still learning, so please go easy on me, fellas.

I'm trying to grease all the zerks on our Kubota B7800, and the blankety-blank grease gun always gets stuck onto the zerk and I can't pull it off. Yesterday I used too much force, and the zerk popped right out and was stuck in the end of the grease gun. I think the zerk wasn't even screwed in all the way because the threads weren't hosed up after it was out, and if it was screwed in all the way, I couldn't have possibly pulled it out like I did.

So, how do you screw a zerk back in when it is not just right outside on somplace easy, where you can get your fingers on it and a 7/16 socket?

And why does the blankety-blank grease gun always get stuck onto the zerk?

/ Gad Zerks, Batman! Help me, Oscar Zerk! #2  
Truman, you have a very common problem with the grease gun getting "stuck" on the zerk. Unless you have a defective part on the grease gun, which is highly unlikely, all you have to do is loosen (unscrew) the tip of the grease gun nozzle. You want it just tight enough that grease doesn't leak out around the zerk, but loose enough to pull off; i.e., finger tight or less.

Examine the zerk you pulled out very carefully. There are threaded zerks and there are pressed in zerks. The threaded zerks come in both SAE and metric. But if it actually is threaded and the threads are not damaged, you should be able to start it with your fingers and if there isn't room for a socket, then an open end or box end wrench should finish the job. Don't over tighten it; it's easy to destroy the threads.

And welcome to Tractorbynet.

/ Gad Zerks, Batman! Help me, Oscar Zerk! #3  
Been there, busted zerks on my 5030 FEL a couple of times.