HST pedal and torque relation

/ HST pedal and torque relation #1  

ccsial

Veteran Member
Tractor
(Kuboto L3400) (Ford 1900 4WD w/FEL) (Deere X748SE) All bought new
I just purchased an L3400 HST last month. The only other HST I have had is my JD355D garden tractor, which hardly counts. I plan to use the L3400 for brush mowing and snow blowing only but I still was interested in pulling power. I have been reading on the forum that to get more torque you must NOT step on the HST pedal too hard since that is like high gear. That didn’t seem quite right to me since this is hydraulics, not gears. But, then, I’m an electronic engineer so I decided to experiment.

I put a chain (1/4 inch thick links) from my draw bar to a big dead tree. I selected LOW range, 4WD, and advanced the throttle to PTO speed. I stepped lightly on the HST pedal and it would not spin the wheels. I pressed the pedal harder and more noise, but no spin. I pressed it all the way down and the wheels spun, the chain snapped. My tractor seems to need to press the pedal further for more torque. This thing does have power. It impressed me. I under-estimated it and now I gotta fix my dang chain.

/ HST pedal and torque relation #2  
Just a thought of caution here. I am not sure if chain is same as cable but if a cable snaps while pulling with it the results can be deadly. With a cable it is always a good idea to drape something over the line like an old jacket or even a tree branch about midway the length. I imagine this would be a good idea with a chain also. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ HST pedal and torque relation
I did think about snapping. I did not think the tractor would do it. I had the brush hog on and the chain ran under it. The tree was vey near the wheel of the brush hog so most of the chain was covered by armour.

/ HST pedal and torque relation #4