Kubota Engines: EGR, Non-EGR, DPF, etc.

/ Kubota Engines: EGR, Non-EGR, DPF, etc.
M8540 does not have an EGR (none of the M40 series do at this point). They are on some of the bigger M series (M126X and M136X just to name 2).

Even on the newer ones? I have no knowledge to question you, but I do know that Kubota has been making some revision changes to models due to emissions. My M8540 is a -1 model (M8540HD12-1) and I believe it was emissions related. EGR seems like it would be an emissions issue.

Thanks for all of the help.

I dreaded posting yet another engine oil thread... but could not find any info on this specific subject via search.

/ Kubota Engines: EGR, Non-EGR, DPF, etc. #12  
Putting it all together, it sounds like Kubota went through a transition to make their engines ULSD friendly. Before they were ULSD friendly, it sounds like the CJ-4 (ULSD friendly oil) wasn't what Kubota liked. Now that Kubota's engines are ULSD friendly, the CJ-4 probably is too.
Not sure I would look at it that way, I doubt Kubota has done extensive redesign in the way of "ULSD-friendly", especially of established products. Excluding perhaps these alleged DPF engines, they're not really making the most advantage of clean-burn properties of ULSD (yet). What primarily needs to be compatible with ULSD, is the oil.

I'm no expert, but my view is something like this:

For oil type & viscosity, I look to the manufacturer.

For service category, I look to the manufacturer first, and in the event of a discrepancy with API, I go with API. Reason: Fuel evolves, and oil evolves to keep pace with it; API is obviously on top of both. Manufacturers don't always keep pace with either, especially on existing product. This discussion is one example.

And because it can't be said too many times :D, use a good fuel lubricity additive. :thumbsup: