Snow Attachments Landscape Rake for Snow Removal?

/ Landscape Rake for Snow Removal? #1  

B8FISH

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 3320
Any reason you couldn't (or shouldn't) attach a "disposable" 2x8 or 2x10 to any rake to act as a rear blade to help clear snow? I've been using the loader and BB on my 2210 for the last 2 years and it works fine, but thinking with the new rake that I could adapt it to help as well, and since it can be angled, that it may be more effective than the box blade. Any ideas and comments welcome.
b8fish

/ Landscape Rake for Snow Removal? #2  
I'm pretty sure it will work ok unless you get ice. A carpenter neighbor of mine growing up used about a 4-5 foot wide board with two handles to hand push snow when it wasn't very heavy. I regularly use a 12' 6x6 on a chain to level ground. Usually after I have raked it with a youk rake. The rake itself without the board will move quite a bit of snow and also break up the fine stuff remaining.

Andy

/ Landscape Rake for Snow Removal? #3  
A coal shovel will work to shovel snow, but not as efficiently. That is what you are trying to do when you try to adapt the landscape rake (York Rake is a specific brand manufactured by York Modern Corp of New York). You might be able to bolt a 2"x 6" board onto the tines, but I don't think that it will work very well except for the smallest of snow falls. The problem that I see is that the wood will not act as a good scraper and that in all probability the rake will just climb up onto the snow pile before you have much snow in front of the "blade". Part of the success of a snow blade is its ability to shed the snow off to the side and its inherent weight to keep it planted on the ground. Like most things, the best tool for the job is the tool that was designed for the job. If you decide to go forward with the experiment, please let us know how it works out.

/ Landscape Rake for Snow Removal? #4