mf230 slow turning over

/ mf230 slow turning over #1  

ontarioboy

Tractor
MF230
can't get my tractor to start. just replaced the starter motor. it is spinning but not wanting to hook up with the fly wheel. when it does hook up with the fly wheel it's rolling really slow. Any ideas folks? does anyone know how I can manually turn the fly wheel to make sure the engine is not seized? I'm new to tractors so any help would be appreciated. Oh also the battery was week so I hooked it up to my running truck and the jumper cable clamp on the hot side at my truck started smoking.

/ mf230 slow turning over #2  
I’d start with a brand new battery; may solve your issues. If not, no harm in having a new battery.

/ mf230 slow turning over #3  
"..the jumper cable clamp on the hot side at my truck started smoking." Regardless of whatever else is going on, THAT shouldn't be happening! Hooked up wrong?? Cheap cables??

/ mf230 slow turning over #4  
I have noticed that many jumper cables on the market now days are only #10 wire with a whole bunch of plastic on them to look larger and the clamps are actually light duty with conductivity on only one side.
If your tractor battery was low and trying to crank with the cables hooked up you were likely pulling over a 100 amps through that cable it would be smoking.
Slow cranking is often poor cable connections and ground connections and or a weak battery.
If the tractor in question is the MF230 and you can find someone to help tow start it.
If it cranks over at all with the starter it's not locked up or seized.

/ mf230 slow turning over #5  
Jumper cables - any jumper cables - off a second battery may not be enough to start a diesel with a bad battery. Take your tractor battery into a battery shop for a load test. If you want to rotate the engine you can put a socket and breaker bar on the nut at the front of the crankshaft. Just don't leave it there when you activate the starter.

/ mf230 slow turning over #6