Oil & Fuel MF240 Perkins Fuel Leak at Filter

/ MF240 Perkins Fuel Leak at Filter #1  

Blunderbore

Bronze Member
Tractor
1993 MF240 w/ 2400QT FEL
I am relatively new to tractors and diesel engines... I bought this MF a few years ago and have only put on ~20 hours.

I recently replaced the fuel filter and O-rings on my MF240 and it is still leaking. It drips once every 10-15 seconds. It appears to leak at the top and bottom of the glass bowl. I don't want to over tighten the bolt and I already have it pretty snug. Any suggestions on how to stop the leaking? Maybe a little RTV?

image4.jpeg

I replaced the filter and added a "pre filter" to see what was clogging up my lines. I can't tell if it is rust or microbes. After thoroughly cleaning the glass bowl, replacing the filter and adding Sta-Bil to the tank I have not had any further problems with fuel blockages.

Thanks for the input!

image5.jpeg
image6.jpeg

/ MF240 Perkins Fuel Leak at Filter #2  
Most likely the O rings. Did you replace them or use the old ones? They need to be seated just right and the whole thing needs to be done up reasonably tight.
Failing that, you might try a different brand of filter such as a genuine Perkins which aren't expensive. That way you are sure the filter and O rings it comes with are exactly the right size.

/ MF240 Perkins Fuel Leak at Filter
Most likely the O rings. Did you replace them or use the old ones? They need to be seated just right and the whole thing needs to be done up reasonably tight.
Failing that, you might try a different brand of filter such as a genuine Perkins which aren't expensive. That way you are sure the filter and O rings it comes with are exactly the right size.

Thank you for the reply. I did replace all the o-rings. I believe I had them in there correctly. I can try do redo it and snug it down a little more.

/ MF240 Perkins Fuel Leak at Filter #4