Need advice for a first tractor purchase

/ Need advice for a first tractor purchase #1  

alligatorob

Tractor
2013 NH Boomer 40
I posted a few weeks back on my need for a tractor and got some really good guidance, see http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/...s/375504-need-lots-tractor-buying-advice.html Now I am hoping to get more specific.

The only dealer in my town is a Case dealer, he has a good reputation and a good shop, he has been in business 70+ years. All things being equal I would like to buy from him but I need some advice before I go in. I am new at this, have not driven a tractor in over 40 years, and don稚 know much. I have a couple of acres of peaches and need to do a lot of landscaping. I also have a 250 gravel drive that needs snow removal in winter and gravel maintained in summer. And my son has a couple of acres down the road and has similar needs. My original post has a lot more about my needs, did not want to repeat too much here.

I have been looking online and have a question about the difference between the small Utility Farmall A and a larger Compact Farmall C. It seems to me you get more tractor for the money with the Utility tractor, what am I missing?

Any other advice would be appreciated.

The one down side to my local dealer is that he doesn稚 have a lot of stock on the lot, he mostly orders the tractors, and he has none of the smaller Farmalls. I am trying to figure out where I can test drive one. Is it odd that he does not stock them? He tells me that he sells a lot of the small ones, but all ordered, not off the lot. It appears most of his customers are long time repeat folks, not newbies like me.

/ Need advice for a first tractor purchase #2  
See my post in your other 'purchase' thread... my same advice applies, it's not colour specific.