Need help - Ford CM272 commercial mower overheating

/ Need help - Ford CM272 commercial mower overheating
Steve HEF said:
They had the same problem with the 272 here at my job. Prior to my coming here the dropped a pile of money on the thing replacing parts, water pump, thermostat, fan and even resorted to propping the hood half open with bungees. I started studying it because we had the same symptoms, it wouldn't overheat until about 45 minutes of mowing. I pulled the radiator and water flow seemed fine. While the fins looked clean, I held a drop light behind the radiator and you couldn't see light through the core. It was caked up with what looked like mud, it was probably dust from grass and such kicked up by the mower.

I pressure washed the radiator and reinstalled, we haven't had a problem since.

I only paid $1500 for the mower, and it's done great up until this... so I can stomach a reasonable amount of money spent on repairs. But with that said, I'm not wasting money on a sinking ship either, so if it costs too much, I'll abandon ship!

Sent from my Motorola Photon using TractorByNet for Android

/ Need help - Ford CM272 commercial mower overheating #12