Oil change

/ Oil change #1  

raykos

Silver Member
Tractor
JD2305
Hi all,

I have a John Deere 2305 with a Yanmar 24hp diesel. I would like to change the oil and filter. This is my first experience with a diesel engine and the owners manual says that a SAE 10W-30 is OK, but a "multi-viscosity diesel engine oil is preferred", and John Deere PLUS-50 is recommended. Is this a case where JD is pushing it's own products or is there really an advantage to paying for and using their oil? Or, can I go to any auto supply store and ask for a "multi-viscosity diesel engine oil". The tractor is still under warranty, so does that also enter into the picture? Any tips or "watch out fors", or is it just a matter of doing a normal oil change? (And, of course, locking all doors & windows to TRY and keep that guy Murphy from getting in!)

Thanks,
Ray

/ Oil change #2  
I am not an expert but I would use the Chevron Delo or Shell's Rotella oils, I think they would me the JD standards and they are oils made for Diesels.

As with any engine stay with one brand for the life of the tractor and service at the specified intervals, as my Yanmar is every 100hr.

Good Luck
Howard L.
Hazmatguy

/ Oil change #3  
My Kubota ( I know different brand) manual says that when running off-road (high sulfur) diesel they recommend their oil. It is formulated for High Sulfur Diesel Fuel. When using a Low Emissions Oil such as Rotella or Delo and running off road diesel to shorten the oil change intervals. Now if your using the new ULSD diesel fuel Rotella LE or Delo LE should be fine.

Chris

/ Oil change #4  
I got my 2320 in May and havent reached that 50 hr mark yet.. I was planning on using rotella 15w40 (same as i use in my dodge cummins), but JD sent me a coupon for free oil for my first oil change, so i took them up on it.. :)

As far as buying oil - Walmart, autozone, etc all carry oil - Just make sure it is for DIESELS...

Brian

/ Oil change #5