problems with my 165 MF

/ problems with my 165 MF #1  

fedo2022

Tractor
Massey Fergerson 165
New topost, thanks in advace for help. i am a real newbie when it comes to tractors, so here goes. I have a 165 MF which runs fine in 1st gear low , but when i try and run it in high gear or even 3 gear low it has no power, anybody have any idea why, could it be a clogged fuel filter. its is diesal, if it is how do you change them and bleed? i ran out of diesal once and almost never got it started. Also ithe bucket on front end loader hydraclics really leaks, is there any help with this ...thanks...enjoy the website

/ problems with my 165 MF #2  
Here's what my MF135 troubleshooting guide says for "loss of power"

Plugged fuel filter
Worn rings, pistons, sleeves, burned or sticking valves
Faulty injection pump governor action
Faulty throttle or governor linkage
Blown head gasket
Brakes dragging
Improper valve adjustment
Connecting rod or main bearings too tight
Clogged air cleaner
Fuel shut-off linkage incorrect
Faulty pump timing

Does your 165 have the multipower transmission? My 135 MP is stuck in low range so I only get 6F/2R gears instead of the 12F/4R that MP provides.

What's leaking on your FEL hydraulics--the hose fittings, the cylinders (rams) or both? Hose and hose fittings are easy to replace. Leaking cylinders need rebuilding, but that's no big deal.

Good luck.

/ problems with my 165 MF
thanks flusher, i will start with fuel filters and air cleaner. my mf is multipower transmission. on the hydraulics leak is the rams, is this something most people can do themselves, is there a product that will help slowdown the leak? also do you know where i can get a manuel...thanks for all your help

/ problems with my 165 MF
Hey flusher how do you tell what year your MF is, i dont see any dates anywhere its a MF Multipower 165....thanks

/ problems with my 165 MF #5