Rotary Cutter Cracked Deck Repair Advice

/ Rotary Cutter Cracked Deck Repair Advice #1  

dux

Ugly as it is, I got this old 6' woods cutter for a song and it has served well for a couple years. It had been 'repaired' a number of times by previous owner(s). Now it has (again) developed cracks in the reinforced section of the deck where the gear box mounts. The cracks allow the mount to flex enough that the blades and arms strike the underside of the deck.
The section appears to be 5/16" thick. I'd appreciate any advice you all have to offer about how to fix it. I'm no expert welder, but i'm considering taking this on myself... though I don't have many fabrication tools beyond an angle grinder and and a few drills... Some of the other threads here show the entire section being cut out and replaced... if that's whats necessary, i'll probably take it to a shop...

Thanks in advance.
-dux

20150417_083112.jpg20150417_083121.jpg20150417_084218.jpg

/ Rotary Cutter Cracked Deck Repair Advice #2  
Due to the extensive cracking and fatigue of the existing metal, I would cut that whole section out and replace with heavier material and complete with some diagonal bracing like flat bar or angle stitch welded on top and extending to the edge at each corner. That should stiffen it up.

The reason it keeps breaking is poor repairs to original small crack where the repairer just laid a not too good, low penetration weld on top of the crack. For crack repair the weld has to be full penetration and is best done welding from both sizes. If you leave any of the crack under the weld it will just crack back thru the weld again.

/ Rotary Cutter Cracked Deck Repair Advice #3  
Looks like repairs may have been done with a 110MIG...either that or it was used with really low settings to make the repair. I'd just get a piece of heavy plate to go back in the formed metal slot. A lot of companies use a heavy piece of flatbar in that application. Cut it out, and weld the plate back in.