Shut Down

/ Shut Down #1  

ldabe

Gold Member
Tractor
PT-422 2002 Robin eng.
Hey! You guys are great!!

I am a newbie (as if you couldn't tell), and bought a used pt-422 with 160hrs, bucket, deck, and new trailer for 6k.
I have used it for just over a month, and wonder if anyone could help with a problem?

When I turn the key off, the machine does not actually turn off for approx. 5-8 seconds! Is this normal? If not, what do you think the problem is.

Again, you guys give a ton of info, and Power Trac should at least give you guys some sort of discount points to use when you purchase additional items. Especially "Mossroad", he is the one who sold me on the PT. I viewed his site with the pics and videos (fantastic job).

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

/ Shut Down #2  
WELCOME to our elite group!

I and others have had a short "run-on" after turning the ignition switch off. I've never had it go for 5 to 8 seconds tho. Typically, when it happened, it was more like one second.

The first place I'd investigate is the fuel cutoff solenoid on the carburetor. Others have mentioned debris lodging there and that would prevent the fuel flow from being stopped and, combined with the heat from the exhaust pipe and heads, allow it to run-on for a longer period than most of us have been experiencing.

It doesn't look difficult to remove that solenoid, although I've never done it. It was pretty easy to get the top of the carb off when a piece of debris was preventing the needle-valve seat from closing all the way (symptom = engine died, removing air cleaner and turning electric pump on revealed gas spurting up through the vents).

By the way, IMHO you got a good deal. Do you have the Robin engine or the Kohler? Tips and tricks sometimes vary between the two.

Phil

/ Shut Down #3  
Uggg, another one playing for the green team! /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif