Taskmaster, Dongfeng, DF 254,Bulldog, East Wind, Agro Master, Ag Trac ... PTO removal

/ Taskmaster, Dongfeng, DF 254,Bulldog, East Wind, Agro Master, Ag Trac ... PTO removal #1  

lyby

Tractor
Taskmaster 426
Hello forum people, I wrote a Pulitzer worthy, lengthy, witty, entertaining, educational and highly detailed description of my PTO removals woes but all was deleted trying to post it when I had the gall to include a link in my literary masterpiece. Seems I haven't posted enough to include a link? Oh well, guess I'll start over since I'm that desperate and this time I'll leave out a bunch of stuff that I have quite frankly either forgotten or am just too lazy to repeat.

I have a Taskmaster 426 which I bought with one axle removed for the purpose of axle seal (garbage) replacement. Replacement was never completed. It seems that anything needing service in that differential area requires PTO removal as far as I can tell? The problem is I can't get the frickin thing out. Has anyone here ever removed it and please tell me how it is done? I can get it about 1/4 inch out but then the shaft seems to be holding it from coming out. I removed a snap ring on the PTO shaft that runs through the diff case but that doesnt seem to have helped.
Someone else on this forum with a similar Bulldog tractor had PTO removal troubles and apparently was able to finally remove it since they later posted a need for PTO parts. Unfortunately they never informed anyone how they got it removed. I have tried to contact him/her but no reply.

Thanks in advance and I promise to post the solution if I ever find it.

Vince in Mojave

/ Taskmaster, Dongfeng, DF 254,Bulldog, East Wind, Agro Master, Ag Trac ... PTO removal