Backhoe tippy backhoe

/ tippy backhoe #1  

pifan

hi everyone i have a b-7100 backhoe i'm pretty new to tractors but do these narrow frame tractors feel tippier than they really are because mine feels real tippy when you go over uneven ground

also stupidity got the best of me thursday i barried it up to the frame in mud not experienced enough to get it out with the hoe so i used my pickup and about 40 feet of chain and didnt even take a picture

/ tippy backhoe #2  
pifan,
I think what you are referring to is "excessive pucker factor" /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif. This is a condition that I suffer from as well /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif.... from time to time. The truth is..... I never want this condition to go away. All CUTs can be "tippy". There are several rollovers every year. I always want to have that little fear of rollover to keep me from doing something stupid. It's when you get overconfident that you can get yourself in trouble.

Hope this helps,
Greg

/ tippy backhoe
yes greg mayby it is pucker factor but is there some way of knowing safe from pucker?

/ tippy backhoe #4  
"yes Greg maybe it is pucker factor but is there some way of knowing safe from pucker? "

If you don't have a tilt meter, perhaps you should get one. There's a link to R&B Mfg. on TBN somewhere....or do a search for tilt meter (forum search).

If your rear tires aren't filled...you might want to consider that although I have read here on TBN Kubota doesn't recommend filled tires with a back hoe.

The B7100 is a pretty small machine. Adding a 'hoe raises the center of gravity (GOG) considerably on a machine that is already a bit on the tippy side.

So, a tilt meter is the first thing to do. You may have to acclimate yourself to the feel of the machine. My first tractor, a Deere 670, felt very tippy. Once I installed the tilt meter, I found the slopes I was most nervous on were actually quite mild. But I didn't have all that weight of a back hoe behind me.