YM240D Pops out of gear

/ YM240D Pops out of gear #1  

haze5736

Tractor
Mahindra Max26 XLT
My 240D pops out of the 4th gear in high range. It does not pop out in low range. I am curious if this is something that will require splitting the tractor to address. Or are there things I can look at as a start that don't require splitting the tractor?

/ YM240D Pops out of gear #2  
Seems it is usually the range shifter that jumps out. Am I understanding correctly that yours is the gear shift and not range shift?

/ YM240D Pops out of gear
Seems it is usually the range shifter that jumps out. Am I understanding correctly that yours is the gear shift and not range shift?
Correct. It is the gear shift that pops out.

/ YM240D Pops out of gear #4  
I feel like the dunce in the class. I know there has to be a forth gear some way or another, but, where is it??

Attachments

• 2022-07-19-070351.jpg
    2022-07-19-070351.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 78
   / YM240D Pops out of gear
Sorry, I'm new to tractors and described it as if I were driving a manual car. It is the 5-8 gear circled in the photo.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220719-085221~2.png
    Screenshot_20220719-085221~2.png
    2.8 MB · Views: 60
   / YM240D Pops out of gear #6  
Sorry, I'm new to tractors and described it as if I were driving a manual car. It is the 5-8 gear circled in the photo.
Ah, its setup much like the Yanmar made John Deeres. There is a HIGH-LOW toggle lever at the right foot on the tractor.

So, with the HIGH/LOW set to low, the 5th works fine? When the HIGH/LOW is set to high, the 8th pops out of gear?

I'm just trying grasp if its a weak spring holding the HIGH position on the toggle lever inside. Just a random guess really. It could also be a friction disc or something to keep the HIGH from slipping out.

/ YM240D Pops out of gear #7  
Ah, its setup much like the Yanmar made John Deeres. There is a HIGH-LOW toggle lever at the right foot on the tractor.
SNIP...