DO IT YOURSELF TIRE BALLAST

/ DO IT YOURSELF TIRE BALLAST #1  

Anonymous Poster

I recently wrote concerning one tire filled with ballast and the other side not filled. I am interested in filling the remaining tire myself. I have looked at previous postings and have noticed many postings of people using antifreeze with water or windshield washer fluid to fill the tire. I am a novice at this and need more advice. I am assuming that my tire to fill does not have a tube, so you would just fill the tire with the fluid and let the rim seal hold it in? It seems easy enough if you are careful and patient. I thought that a dealer had told me that when they put calcium chloride in a tire, they add an innertube. Is this not the case with antifreeze or windhield washer fluid? Please help!!!!

/ DO IT YOURSELF TIRE BALLAST #2  
Calcium chloride is very corrosive, so an innertube is used to protect the rim. If you are using antifreeze or winshield fluid, there is no need for a tube.

/ DO IT YOURSELF TIRE BALLAST #4