Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Silver Member George in Spokane's Avatar

Default Tire stem protectors

I'm new to welding and I would like to weld some 2" pieces of pipe on to my tire stems. Can I do this with the tire mounted or do I need to disassemble it? I have a 180 amp wire welder.

Thanks
    2008 Kioti CK-35 w/ FEL, HST, toothbar, R1, RimGuard, 2" wheel spacers
    1956 Ferguson TO-35

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    Kubota Grand L4740, B2400 and F2680

Default Re: Tire stem protectors

I would take the wheel off, not neceessarily the tire, and weld it while it is laying flat. It doesn't need to welded all the way round, just tacked sufficiently to hold on on. Another thing I would do is cut a slot in the 2" pipe so you can get a chuck on to the tire stem to inflate it. There is nothing worse than having your tire stem so "protected" by the the pipe that you can't get anything on to to it to blow air into the tire. Don't ask me how I know this. It's enbarassing.

Veteran Member

You can do it with the tyre on but only if it is tubeless as the heat from the weld will ruin the tube in a tube type tyre .

Tractor
    PowerTrac 1850

The local tire shop would not weld mine on with tires mounted. Basically it is due to the heat. Too much risk involved, and they said generally it always ended in a slow leak.
    Power-Trac 1850, grapple, hoe, 90" mower, 72" box blade

Tractor
    NH 1925

At the least, I would break that bead and push it down in the center and hold it with soem wood blocks.

It is all a matter of weighing the benefits too the risk, and the 2 minutes I would spend too do that, would far outweigh the risk of damaging the tire bead with the heat in my opinion.

Good luck however you go.

Tractor
    ym1700, NH7610S, Ford 8N, 2N, NAA, 660, 850 x2, 541, 950, 941D, 951, 2000, 3000, 4000, 4600, 5000, 740, IH 'C' 'H', CUB, John Deere 'B', allis 'G', case VAC