Tire Selection Forestry tires

/ Forestry tires #1  

tungularafishcamp

Veteran Member
Tractor
kubota L2800, 1/2 of a L48
Have a bunch of hillside logging with our l48 this winter, and was thinking about putting same size or maybe one step larger forestry tires instead of the r4's which would have to be chained up. I wasn't to tear things up as little as possible.

Anyone know of a good source for forestry tires?

/ Forestry tires #2  
It doesn't freeze where you are?

Here it's "ice in a road" for winter logging.

Tires don't amount to more than something to hang chains from.

/ Forestry tires
I have been sneaking down to the coast range of Oregon for a couple months last bunch of winters. We just have winter rains:/ truthfully miss the cold n snow but family obligations.

/ Forestry tires #4  
Agree with what CalG says. Even the most aggressive tire style has chains hanging on it when used in commercial forestry applications.

/ Forestry tires #5  
What exactly do you want to achieve with the tire swap? Stability? Traction? I think if you go bigger, if you still run out of traction, you're gonna have a tough time fitting chains. Personally, my priority list for logging with a tractor would start with a skidding winch, like a Farmi. If you've already got one, then I'd go for chains. Changing tires is gonna be expensive, and I don't think you're gonna get much improvement for your money versus a winch or chains.

/ Forestry tires
I already have a good winch, and I was hoping to find a "deal" on forestry tires.

Th r4's just don't have the traction that we need a lot of the time. Push myself out with the backhoe a lot and I cant have the winch on with the backhoe.
Ag tires wouldn't have the sidewall strength for the loader work we do so I thought the forestry ones might be a good compromise.