R4 Tire Choices

/ R4 Tire Choices #1  

buckle97

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota L3830GST
I have always had R1 tires and now I am looking at R4 tires for my new tractor purchase. My dealer has many of the tractor model I am interested in on his lot. Some of them have Firestone R4's and some have Titan R4's. The tread pattern is definately different between the two. I am just wondering if anyone has noticed this and if anyone has had a good or bad experience with either type.

Firestone:
radial_all_tract_utility.jpg

Titan:
ci1034.jpg

I don't think these are the EXACT tire I am looking at, but these pictures show the difference in tread pattern that I see. The Firestone has the hook on the tread in the middle of the tire. The Titan is just straight at the end.

Lawrence

/ R4 Tire Choices #2  
I'm not a tire expert, but I have owned several machines with R4's and I would say that you will never be able to tell the difference in actual operation. The differences are just to subtle. I have bought both Titans and Firestone and Titans are usually a little cheaper around here. I don't think that you could go wrong with either one.

/ R4 Tire Choices #3  
I have the Titan's on mine. I have never seen the Firestone's until you showed this picture.

Just by looking at the pictures of the two, I would say the Firestone would grip better, and wouldn't have the "sideway" slide on hills. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

I would be willing to try the Firestone. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

RedDog

/ R4 Tire Choices #4  
I have the titans on mine and i like them. Don't think you would notice any difference in using either, the design is not that much different.

/ R4 Tire Choices #5  
I've had both more than once. I currently have Titans. I think the Firestone R4's look "cooler", but I can't tell any performance difference. They are both a very tough tires.